Club History

The Footscray Cricket Club joined the Victorian Premier Cricket competition in 1948, providing players of the Western Suburbs of Melbourne the chance to play at the highest level of club cricket and come under the eyes of Victorian selectors.

Based at Merv Hughes Oval on Farnsworth Ave in Footscray for Training and 1st and 2nd XI play, and playing 3rd and 4th XI cricket at the Tony Dodemaide Oval across Farnsworth Avenue, Footscray is the only Victorian Premier Cricket club in the western suburbs. 

The club has won the 1st XI premiership twice, in seasons 1979-1980 & 2013-2014, and is the Premier Cricket home of Australian Test Players Merv Hughes, Tony Dodemaide, Collin Miller and others, as well as many players who have represented Victoria in Sheffield Shield